Brit Hume Says that Tiger Woods Needs “Redemption”, Should Turn to Christianity

Posted: January 5, 2010 by Rick Hogaboam in Apologetics, Discipleship/Sanctification, From the Heart
Tags: , , , ,

On Fox News Sunday, Brit Hume made mention of Tiger Woods’ Buddhist faith and offered a suggestion,

“I don’t think that faith offers the kind of forgiveness and redemption that is offered by the Christian faith. So my message to Tiger would be…turn to the Christian faith and you can make a total recovery and be a great example to the world.”

I know that Hume didn’t mention Jesus in specificity and seemingly highlighted a theology of glory, an emphasis on the subjective derivatives that come from “trying” the Christian faith. At the same time, I acknowledge that Hume was redactive and not lecturing on Christian theology. I think Hume’s approach to Tiger is in many ways similar to how Jesus invited others to follow him:

“I am the bread…”

“I am living water…”

“My peace I give you…”

And on and on. Yes, Jesus came to objectively forgive us through the miraculous work of justification, where we stand righteous in the Father’s eyes by faith on account of Jesus’ all-sufficient sacrifice alone. However, there are many accompanying fruits that flow from justification. One of the greatest is to cry out “Abba”, knowing and feeling the intimacy we have with the Father because we have been objectively adopted as His child.

I must admit that I am usually uncomfortable with the press offering religious commentary. Hume defied PC by actually dissing the Buddhist faith and making an appeal to the redemption that is found in Christ alone. The Christian faith gets dissed enough on the major networks and I would actually welcome a robust debate on the competing “gods” of various religions and for everyone to see that we all DON’T worship the same God, but that belief has huge consequences.  Buddhism offers incarnation, the perpetual process of getting better. Tiger will perpetually be playing out of sandtraps in the hope that he will make par, only to find out that with each shot, the hole gets further away.

“I am just one shot away”. The mantra of all works-based self-improvement religious faiths, whose “gods” heartily encourage, “Yes, just one shot away”

Instead, Christ offers us complete righteousness in Himself. Jesus says,

“Stop shooting, you will never get it. You can try for all eternity and be reincarnated a billion times and yet, you will never attain it. I have already attained it. Drop the club and draw near to me. In me you will be counted as righteous. I have played the course perfectly, none can match me.

I know the Christian faith is too good to be true and seems like foolishness to some, but this is the good news…keep your life and lose it or lose your life and find it. You must cease from works righteousness and trust completely in Jesus Christ, who is the wisdom of God, the power of God, the righteousness of God, our sanctification….and YES, our JOY!!!

Comments
  1. [...] objective emphasis in Gospel proclamations that often accompany “evangelizing” today (link). I would actually proclaim a loud “Amen”  to Savage’s criticisms if Hume [...]

  2. Mimi says:

    good reading. what a nice surprise by televised prime time and Brit Hume. I hope he speaks from personal faith.

Leave a Reply

