2/28/08 Devotional – Psalm 3 “David has a shield around him and gets some sleep”

Posted: February 28, 2008 by Rick Hogaboam in Biblical Studies, Devotional, Psalms
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

 Psa 3:1-8

(1)  A Psalm of David, when he fled from Absalom his son. O LORD, how many are my foes! Many are rising against me;

(2)  many are saying of my soul, there is no salvation for him in God. Selah

(3)  But you, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head.

(4)  I cried aloud to the LORD, and he answered me from his holy hill. Selah

(5)  I lay down and slept; I woke again, for the LORD sustained me.

(6)  I will not be afraid of many thousands of people who have set themselves against me all around.

(7)  Arise, O LORD! Save me, O my God! For you strike all my enemies on the cheek; you break the teeth of the wicked.

(8)  Salvation belongs to the LORD; your blessing be on your people! Selah

Have you ever been betrayed before? The pain can be so strong that you find it hard to sleep. Well, King David was overthrown and ran out of Jerusalem by his own son Absalom. In my mind I am picturing a tired man who is sleepless and paranoid. Instead, David turned to God in prayer and he was heard.

David then talks about how he was able to sleep because God was helping him. He even says that he won’t be afraid of “many thousands of people”. Where did David get such fearlessness?

The answer is in verse 3 where David calls the Lord a “shield about me”, “my glory”, and “the lifter of my head”.

If you have been betrayed or are feeling like the whole world is against you, I pray that you have the confidence that comes from turning to the Lord so that you won’t fear even many thousands. Perhaps you are filled with anxiety, give your concerns to the Lord in prayer and lay your head down for peaceful rest. Perhaps your head is down, depressed or saddened by something…the Lord will lift your head up. The Lord is placing His hand under some of your chins even right now as you read this and pulling you out of your misery. Keep you head up, and set your eyes on the Lord who gives you strength!!!

Comments
  1. Amen this worked the lord has moved me by this massage i do not fear anymore God bless you i will
    Share this with all it is a blessing.
    Ashley Femmers

Leave a Reply

