2/29/08 Devotional – Psalm 4 “David rocks out with Praise”

Posted: February 29, 2008 by Rick Hogaboam in Biblical Studies, Devotional, Psalms
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

Psa 4:1-8  To the choirmaster: with stringed instruments. A Psalm of David. Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness! You have given me relief when I was in distress. Be gracious to me and hear my prayer!  (2)  O men, how long shall my honor be turned into shame? How long will you love vain words and seek after lies? Selah  (3)  But know that the LORD has set apart the godly for himself; the LORD hears when I call to him.  (4)  Be angry, and do not sin; ponder in your own hearts on your beds, and be silent. Selah  (5)  Offer right sacrifices, and put your trust in the LORD.  (6)  There are many who say, “Who will show us some good? Lift up the light of your face upon us, O LORD!”  (7)  You have put more joy in my heart than they have when their grain and wine abound.  (8)  In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.

David likes music no doubt and wrote this to be played with stringed instruments. I can’t help but think that David would love to hear his music played with some of the more modern instruments, such as the electric guitar. Anyhow, on to some more important truths in this Psalm.

Have you ever made an important phone call where each ring seemed like an eternity as you waited for someone to answer? I have many times. There have been times when I desperately wanted to go somewhere with my friends and I would call my dad for permission, hoping he would answer because I couldn’t go otherwise. There are many other examples that I’m sure you have. When David prays, he asks God to answer him. He asks God to be gracious in hearing his prayer.

When we pray, we must also come humbly before God. Imagine if called the president of the United States or your favorite movie star or music artist, do you honestly think they will answer the phone even once? And if they answered even once, do you think that they would answer every time you called? Probably not. They are important to us, but we are not important to them. God, however, is always available to hear from us.  At the same time, we must always remember that praying is not a right, but an incredible privilege that only comes to us because Jesus purchased access for us to come to the Father.

When I was away in college, it was expensive to call back home. My phone bill would be ridiculously high. Calling home was a privilege and didn’t come cheap. Making a phone call to another country on the other side of the globe would even be more expensive. Even more costly is a phone call to heaven. We have an unlimited minute plan because Jesus paid for it. When David appealed to God’s mercy, he knew very well that we are not entitled to God’s attention but that He has graciously taken notice of us because we have been saved by Jesus.

David says, “You have put more joy in my heart than they have when their grain and wine abound”.

Can you say the same thing? Many of us are allured into thinking that sinners are having one big party in life and we Christians are sitting on the bench trying not to be envious. I admit that I have felt that way before. What I failed to realize is that Jesus is a source of joy that is far greater than anything this world has to offer. I used to focus on the things that I wasn’t supposed to do, while failing to see that for everything God tells us not to do, he offers us something much more satisfying.

May you pray, always humble of what it cost for your phone call to God’s throne…Jesus’ blood. May you also be full of the joy that is only found in the source of life, God Himself.

Leave a Reply

