Praying for John Wooden

Posted: March 1, 2008 by Rick Hogaboam in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

John Wooden is recovering from a fall. He suffered injuries to his wrist and collarbone. You can find the story at this link: http://msn.foxsports.com/cbk/story/7858462/UCLA-legend-Wooden-falls,-fractures-wrist,-collarbone

You may not believe what I am about to tell you, but for some odd reason earlier tonight, John Wooden came to mind and I was concerned about him. It was around 4-6pm Eastern time when the thought came to me and I am wondering if it coincided with the time of his fall in anyway. Perhaps, I was prompted to pray for him because of the fall. There have been a couple instances where I have been led to pray for someone, only to later find out that it was appropriately timed with some form of tempting or discouragement. The thing with John Wooden, though, is that we don’t know each other in a personal way and I am indeed surprised that he would come to my mind the same day as his fall, perhaps even in the same moment of his fall, considering that we aren’t close friends. This would be the first time I was led to pray for a “star” at a prompting.

I should mention that I have had the privilege to meet Wooden on several occasions and discuss his Christian faith with him. He was attending Shepherd of the Hills church in Porter Ranch at the time and took an interest in my Bible College education. He once signed a bible verse (1 Corinthians 13) on one of my autograph requests. He also gave me his business card at the time, which I have tucked away to this day. My only regret is not getting a picture with him. I wrote him in the mail within the past year and he was quick to respond. He is the classiest man I have ever met and I admire him greatly. I pray that he recovers from this fall and am glad that the Holy Spirit prompted concern for him earlier this evening.

Leave a Reply

