3/3/08 Devotional – Psalm 7 “God is Ready to Fire at Wickedness”

Posted: March 3, 2008 by Rick Hogaboam in Biblical Studies, Devotional, Psalms, Theology
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

 

Psa 7:1-17

(1)  A Shiggaion of David, which he sang to the LORD concerning the words of Cush, a Benjaminite. O LORD my God, in you do I take refuge; save me from all my pursuers and deliver me,

(2)  lest like a lion they tear my soul apart, rending it in pieces, with none to deliver.

(3)  O LORD my God, if I have done this, if there is wrong in my hands,

(4)  if I have repaid my friend with evil or plundered my enemy without cause,

(5)  let the enemy pursue my soul and overtake it, and let him trample my life to the ground and lay my glory in the dust. Selah

(6)  Arise, O LORD, in your anger; lift yourself up against the fury of my enemies; awake for me; you have appointed a judgment.

(7)  Let the assembly of the peoples be gathered about you; over it return on high.

(8)  The LORD judges the peoples; judge me, O LORD, according to my righteousness and according to the integrity that is in me.

(9)  Oh, let the evil of the wicked come to an end, and may you establish the righteous– you who test the minds and hearts, O righteous God!

(10)  My shield is with God, who saves the upright in heart.

(11)  God is a righteous judge, and a God who feels indignation every day.

(12)  If a man does not repent, God will whet his sword; he has bent and readied his bow;

(13)  he has prepared for him his deadly weapons, making his arrows fiery shafts.

(14)  Behold, the wicked man conceives evil and is pregnant with mischief and gives birth to lies.

(15)  He makes a pit, digging it out, and falls into the hole that he has made.

(16)  His mischief returns upon his own head, and on his own skull his violence descends.

(17)  I will give to the LORD the thanks due to his righteousness, and I will sing praise to the name of the LORD, the Most High.

This psalm paints a picture of God that many are not aware of. In verse 12, it says that God is preparing His sword and pulling back on the arrow, ready to destroy the person who fails to repent of their sin. Verse 13 goes on to say that God is preparing his deadly weapons and will unleash fiery arrows on the wicked. God is love, but He is also full of anger towards the wicked. We must never forget what God thinks of our sins. When God forgives those who do repent, it’s not like God is saying, “We’ll just let this one pass”. All of our forgiven sin endured God’s wrath on the cross when Jesus suffered the punishment for us. It was necessary that Jesus suffer because it was the only way God could unleash his wrath upon our sin for our forgiveness.

What do wicked people look like? Notice that verse 14 says that the wicked person conceives evil and is pregnant with mischief, giving birth to lies. The idea of conceiving something is much like conceiving a child. The child grows bigger and bigger within you. Sin is much the same way. May people think that playing with sin is no big deal, “A little sin will not hurt. After all, it will be just this once and I won’t do it again.” The problem is that when you allow sin to come inside of you, it will grow bigger and faster than you can imagine. Before you know it, you will be pregnant and giving birth to more wickedness. You need to get rid of our sin and keep it out. Jesus will help you.

1Co 10:13

(13)  No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

Fight he good fight today!!! Remember also how much you have been forgiven!!! Lastly, weep and mourn for what will happen to unrepentant sinners. I’m sure you have some family and friends that reject God. Share the bad news of God’s anger and wrath against their sin…THEN share the good news that be turning from our sin and turning to Jesus, God will place the wrath of our sin upon him so that we don’t have to bear it.

Leave a Reply

