Remembering 9/10/01 with Gordon Fee

Posted: March 6, 2008 by Rick Hogaboam in Pentecostal/Charismatic Interests
Tags: , , , , ,

I went on vacation to Vancouver, BC in September of 2001 and spent several days consuming large amounts of salmon and books from Regent Seminary’s bookstore. I was also considering Regent as a possible seminary destination and inquired as to whether I would be allowed to sit in on a class, especially with esteemed scholar Gordon Fee. I was granted permission and thoroughly enjoyed sitting in on Dr. Fee’s class. Even better, Gordon Fee was gracious enough to sit down with me for about an hour following the class and discuss Pentecostal theology and liturgy.

All I can say is that I am indebted to Gordon Fee, especially his labors in “God’s Empowering Presence” and have personally been shaped by much of his writings. His passion for academic rigour is far surpassed by his passion for Jesus. When he prayed during class, it was full of pastoral passion and assurance that God was very much listening to and responding to everything brought before Him. Fee also shared how his previous evening was filled with a sweet season of prayer in the Spirit.

Dr. J.I. Packer was teaching a course on the Puritans, which I had considered visiting on 9/11/2001…but for obvious reasons, I didn’t make the trip to Regent that morning as I watched a plane knock down the WTC in New York.

Leave a Reply

