Introducing New Blogger!!! Brian Andrews

Posted: March 8, 2008 by Rick Hogaboam in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

brian_andrews.jpg 

Hi, I’m Brian and I guess I’m the old man around here.  (I recently turned 40.)  Amy and I got married in 1997, and we are the blessed parents of four children. 

Currently, I teach Math at the Ninth Grade Center of Cedar Hills High School in Cedar Hills, TX, just outside Dallas. 

I’m a native Californian—born, raised and educated there.  I received a B.S. degree in Aerospace Engineering from UCLA in 1990, and a M.S. degree in Aeronautics and Astronautics at Stanford University in 1992.  After grad school, I started full-time work in a large aerospace firm. 

Feeling unfulfilled as a rocket scientist, I quit my job and started selling car stereos, alarms and car phones at my parents’ store.  (You know you’re old if you remember when you could only use a mobile phone in your car.)  I was 24 and had no idea what I wanted to be when I grew up. 

On December 15, 1992 at 4:00 a.m., God showed up in my bedroom and pretty much messed up my life from that point forward.  I had been a Christian since I was a teenager, but I consider that day my spiritual birthday:  the day I was “born again again.” Despite my initially fierce opposition to the idea, I responded to God’s call to enter pastoral ministry.  I completed my Master of Divinity degree from Fuller Seminary in 1999, having done half my schooling at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School. 

Although I’m teaching in a public school right now, for most of the last 16 years I have been involved in pastoral ministry.  I began as a college pastor at my home church in Artesia, CA.  Following that, I spent three years working with youth, young adults and prayer ministries at what is now Living Springs Community Church just outside Chicago.  After that, I served as associate pastor and worship leader at a church plant in the San Diego area.  Most recently, I was the lead pastor at Vineyard Christian Church in Rochester, NY.  Lord willing, I will be able to serve in full-time ministry again.  Having spent a little time overseas, I’ve got the missions bug in a big way. 

My vision is to see people from every nation saved, healed, set free and empowered to be passionate followers of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

