3/9/08 Devotional – Psalm 13 “Singing in a Dark, Cold, Depressing Cave”

Posted: March 9, 2008 by Rick Hogaboam in Biblical Studies, Devotional, Psalms
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

 

Psa 13:1-6  To the choirmaster. A Psalm of David. How long, O LORD? Will you forget me forever? How long will you hide your face from me?  (2)  How long must I take counsel in my soul and have sorrow in my heart all the day? How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?  (3)  Consider and answer me, O LORD my God; light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,  (4)  lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,” lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.  (5)  But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.  (6)  I will sing to the LORD, because he has dealt bountifully with me.

It is thought that David wrote this while fleeing from his son Absalom. Absalom had taken over the throne from his father David in a sneaky and scandalous manner. David is likely in a cave of some sorts and feels himself slowly fading to death because of the depressing realities surrounding him. He prays for God to “light up” his eyes. There is a change in his demeanor in vs. 5-6. He is reminded of God’s steadfast love and declares that his heart will now rejoice. This leads to singing in v. 6 has David likely is reminded of the many good things God has done in his life.

You might be in a cave, dark, cold, and depressed. David found light and joy by looking upward, away from himself and his situation. His heart was warmed with joy and then flowed from his lips in song. He realized that God was loving, good, and had already proven himself to David in these ways.

You need to look away from your situation, your sorrows, and look up. You will be consumed with depression and hopelessness if you dwell on your plight. Satan wants you to keep your eyes on your problems and faint in despair. If you look up, you will find a faithful and loving God who has already done so much for you. Joy will fill your heart and you can sing, no matter how big the storm.

Leave a Reply

