3/19/08 Devotional – Psalm 23 “The Lord is my shepherd…”

Posted: March 19, 2008 by Rick Hogaboam in Biblical Studies, Devotional, Psalms
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Psa 23:1-6  A Psalm of David. The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.  (2)  He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters.  (3)  He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.  (4)  Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.  (5)  You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.  (6)  Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

This is probably the most quoted Psalm from the Bible. It is often quoted at funerals or to people near death as a reminder of God’s presence with us in our darkest days.  Most people are familiar with the first half of the psalm and forget about the second half, which also talks about what we can expect from God. He promises to prepare a feast for us and this truth is even more magnified in the New Testament where it speaks of Jesus inviting us to a wedding banquet. When Jesus shall return, He is throwing one eternal party and we will be gathered around a feast.

The psalm ends by declaring, “I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever”. Death is not our final chapter. We will be ushered into an eternal party in an eternal city. It will be most wonderful. I look forward to it. Remember, for us to live is Christ and to die is gain.

Leave a Reply

