Rick Hogaboam Audio Sermon: Isaiah 6 “A Sinner Encounters Sovereign Grace”

Posted: April 2, 2008 by Rick Hogaboam in Audio Sermons, Biblical Studies
Tags: , , , , ,

100_3741.jpg

Audio File: pastor-rick-hogaboam-isa-6-sovereign-grace.mp3

A Sinner Encounters Sovereign Grace 

Isa 6:1-8(1)  In the year that King Uzziah died I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up; and the train of his robe filled the temple.(2)  Above him stood the seraphim. Each had six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew.(3)  And one called to another and said: “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD of hosts; the whole earth is full of his glory!”(4)  And the foundations of the thresholds shook at the voice of him who called, and the house was filled with smoke.(5)  And I said: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts!”(6)  Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a burning coal that he had taken with tongs from the altar.(7)  And he touched my mouth and said: “Behold, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away, and your sin atoned for.”(8)  And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.” 

Outline:

  1. Revelation of God’s Splendor (1-4)
  2. Realization of our Sinfulness (5)
  3. Reassurance of God’s Salvation (6-7)
  4. Response of our Service (8)
  5. All this happens because we have been Rescued by the Savior (Eph. 2:1-10)

 

Leave a Reply

