“Pray for Sam Storms”

Posted: August 19, 2008 by Rick Hogaboam in Pentecostal/Charismatic Interests
Tags: , ,

Okay, so I was praying a couple weeks ago and the Lord prompted in my heart the desire to pray for Sam Storms. I sought how I ought to pray and I sensed that Sam Storms was perhaps in transition to a new ministry opportunity from his current role as president of “Enjoying God Ministries” (http://www.enjoyinggodministries.com). Having said this, Dr. Storms and I aren’t friends, have never met, etc. I emailed Dr. Storms last week and inquired if there was anything to it and he informed me that he was indeed transitioning and accepted the call to serve as Pastor of Bridgeway Church in Oklahoma City, which was just made public yesterday (8/18/08). Here is the announcement from Dr. Storms:

We are moving to Oklahoma!

  • Sam Storms
  • Aug 18, 2008

Yes, it’s true. Sometime within the next two months Ann and I will be moving to Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, where I will be assuming the position of Senior Pastor at Bridgeway Church. My first official Sunday there will be September 14 and we will move as soon as our home in Kansas City is sold.

Although this may come as a surprise (shock?) to many of you, I’ve been praying for quite some time about the possibility of returning to the local church in full time pastoral ministry. That is where my heart is and where I believe my gifts can best be used for the glory of Christ. Please pray for us as we make this major transition.

I’ve had a long and fruitful relationship with Bridgeway since its founding in 1994. Ann and I have many long-term friends who attend and I’ve preached there at least a dozen times over the past fourteen years. Bridgeway is a non-denominational church that is whole-heartedly committed to the convergence of Word and Spirit, which as you know, is a passion that beats profoundly in my heart as well.

What about Enjoying God Ministries? I’m happy to say that EGM will continue to exist and to fulfill its vision of providing biblical and theological resources to the wider body of Christ. The Elders at Bridgeway are fully supportive of the ministry of EGM. Precisely how the two entities will relate has yet to be determined, but you can rest assured that the website will remain in place as a source of blessing to the kingdom of God.

Of course, my traveling schedule will be greatly reduced as my primary focus will soon be Bridgeway and the people who comprise this wonderful local church. The Elders are supportive of my writing ministry, for which I am incredibly grateful.

Ann and I will have much more to communicate about the move in the days ahead, but I wanted to alert all of you with the news and to thank you for your prayers during these last four years of my work with EGM. Without your intercessory and financial support, we simply could not have accomplished anything of spiritual value. Thank you!

Sam and Ann Storms

Leave a Reply

