Why do Christians Sing?

Posted: September 19, 2008 by Rick Hogaboam in Discipleship/Sanctification, Worship
Tags: , , , ,

This coming Sunday I will be preaching on worship…especially in song. As I have done research and preparation for the message, it has been difficult because there is so much I want to convey and I need to redact my material. Anyhow, song is powerful.

Creation was birthed in song, Song accompanied pivotal moments in redemptive history (Exodus, Incarnation, Last Supper), Song preceded victory in warfare, Song opened up the prison doors for Paul and Silas, Song is everywhere in Revelation. God inhabits the praises of His people and in fact sings over us Himself.

All of this is truly amazing!!!!

Here is a quote from C.S. Lewis that sums up why we sing:

But the most obvious fact about praise-whether of God or anything-strangely escaped me. I thought of it in terms of compliment, approval, or the giving of honor. I had never noticed that all enjoyment spontaneously overflows into praise…. The world rings with praise-lovers praising their mistresses, readers their favorite poet, walkers praising the countryside, players praising their favorite game….My whole, more general, difficulty about the praise of God depended on my absurdly denying to us, as regards the supremely Valuable, what we delight to do, what indeed we can’t help doing, about everything else we value. I think we delight to praise what we enjoy because the praise not merely expresses but completes the enjoyment; it is its appointed consummation”

Leave a Reply

