God is my Realtor

Posted: October 20, 2008 by Chad in Uncategorized
Tags:

This is not our 1100 sq.ft. townhouse.

My wife and I are extra-fortunate to have had our offer on a townhouse accepted. We just opened escrow and have the inspection later this week. When I tell the story, many people have told me how encouraged they are by the Providence involved.

First off, I look at real estate listings all the time. For the past two years, I’ve found it very interesting. When we first met with our realtor, Dean, he brought a stack of listings in our price range. One was a property I had never seen. All the others, I had seen from my own research. I was intrigued at how this one place had slipped under the radar.

We saw this mysterious property and liked it initially (except for the extensive filth in the carpet and scratched/ugly walls. It’s bank owned and we decided to go for it. We figured if we offered full price but wanted some closing covered, they’d accept, especially since there were no other offers.

Dean got the offer together and readied it for our signatures. He emailed it to me for review and the price was incorrect. I explained to Dean what the price was and that it would mean the down payment was such and such, basically rewriting his whole offer. He replied with one simple line: “They lowered the asking price, it’s your lucky day.” Shock. There aren’t very many times in my life where I was so utterly excited and couldn’t think of anything to say. It gets better…

A spread like this...in Orange County? Nope.

Now that the price was lowered, Veronica and I could pay for the paint and carpet out of pocket instead of on credit (one of the few things OK with me to put on credit). When we met at the townhouse later that day to sign the offer, we were greeted with the smell of recently painted walls! “No,” I thought “could they have?” I ran over to the stairs where the carpets starts and sure enough. Brand new, vacuumed, carpet up the stairs and throughout the top floor! What a day.

We signed the offer, it was accepted (against two others) and we have inspection in a couple days. Veronica is excited to get paint swatches and really make the place a home.

All this in a place that I didn’t even know existed.

Comments
  1. Heidi says:

    Woohoo!!!! I’m so excited!

  2. Veronica says:

    Amen to your woohoo!!!! I’m so excited, too! 🙂

  3. Chad….you got hooked up!!! I would love to visit your pad someday…we hope on coming to Cali next Summer. Thanks for the update!!!

Leave a Reply

