There and back again

Posted: October 22, 2008 by joelmartin in Uncategorized
Tags:

I just had the privilege of traveling to Idaho and back home again. It’s hard to believe how much a place can change in just a few years. I don’t travel by air enough to be totally jaded by the experience. I still find it amazing that we can so easily move from one side of the country to the other in such short order. I love airports and wouldn’t mind working at one if I could. The business of people in a hurry to travel to the various corners of the country is fun to watch. The sense that everyone is going somewhere and needs to hurry, or on the contrary, that they are stuck and need to pass the time sitting in the airport, is entertaining to experience.

Idaho has been growing while I’ve been away. Now it is awash in strip malls, chain restaurants and big-box stores. The sameness of America is sort of depressing. Everywhere you go there are the same stores in the same places with the same promise of good times if you just spend money in them. There don’t seem to be many unique places in the USA anymore. I’m not sure how that will play out in the future – it’s something to watch. 

I enjoyed worshiping God with Pastor Rick Hogaboam and the people of Sovereign Grace Fellowship in Nampa. Rick is focused on the right things and now there is a Reformed church right in the heart of Nampa, when for all those years there was nothing to be found for miles around. Hopefully God will add to their numbers with people getting saved.

I guess Minneapolis is still my home because whenever I pass through the airport I feel a twinge of nostalgia. I looked down on the IDS building and the Metrodome and it looked like home, even after all of these years. 

But Virginia is the most beautiful of them all. Our hills and rivers with the Blue Ridge out on the horizon make a great place to live. I don’t know that I have the heart for winters in Minneapolis now, so I will stay content with the Old Dominion, or Maryland should the opportunity arise. The road goes ever on, but I am glad to be home.

Leave a Reply

