Scott Kistler Joins Endued Blogger Community!!!

Posted: January 15, 2009 by Rick Hogaboam in Uncategorized

My name is Scott Kistler.  Currently, I am a history professor at Kankakee Community College, where I teach mostly Western Civilization courses.  I’m very blessed to have a career that immerses me in what I love.  I need to remember to be thankful much more often for that!

I grew up in the Chicago area at Christ Church of Oak Brook, a large non-denominational church in the western suburbs.  The pastors were definitely in the Reformed tradition, as many were former Reformed and Christian Reformed ministers with Dutch names, although I would say that the teaching of the church from the pulpit and in Sunday School (as I remember it) was much more in the American evangelical mainstream with a Reformed twist.

I have a B.A. in Teaching of Social Studies from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and a Master’s in History from the University of California, Riverside.  In between those degrees, I moved to California, taught 6th grade for a year (please don’t ask), worked at a law firm, became friends with Rick through a mutual pastor friend, and ended up on the center-left politically (not Rick’s fault).  I moved back to Chicago and began teaching.

Like Rick, I love baseball.  Unlike Rick, I made a poor choice of teams (not really a choice, but a product of my environment) and am bound to a team that has not won a World Series in a historically significant amount of time (the Cubs, for the non-baseball fans out there).  I’m interested in politics and movies as well.

Rick has asked me to provide a Christian perspective on the lessons of history at Endued.  I’m looking forward to developing my thoughts in this area and hope that I can add something interesting and edifying.

Comments
  1. joelmartin says:

    Welcome Scott, I look forward to reading what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

