Obama vs. any other vote

Posted: January 21, 2009 by mimi in Abortion, Politics, Social Issues, Uncategorized

I know this is a little late but I just had to release this thought that’s been going through my head ever since the election and I just never wrote about it but I’ll keep it short. Basically, I think, even if you didn’t vote for Obama, adversely any vote for anyone other than McCain or not voting at all, was ultimately a vote for Obama. McCain was the only viable candidate against Obama and all votes counted big time for McCain.
Now I’m not trying to bash anyone, especially christians who voted according to their own consciences but I hope any christian who did vote for Obama doesn’t regret it.

Comments
  1. Heidi says:

    What happened to voting for the candidate that you think would be best for our country? I don’t think we should have to resort to vote for the “lesser of two evils.” I think our two-party system is pretty flawed, but how is it going to change or get better if we just follow suit? I voted third party and I’m proud of it. I don’t think there were enough people who voted third party that could have voted for McCain to make a difference anyway. Did you see how much Obama won by?

  2. mimi says:

    I totally believe that people should vote for whoever they want, according to whatever criteria they see fit. People, especially christians, should vote according to their own good conscience, through much thought and prayer. I don’t deny that. I don’t think voting between Obama and McCain was choosing “the lesser of 2 evils”. I wouldn’t say nor am I saying either of them are evil. Nope, not even Obama.

    I’m still pretty new to this whole political arena myself. I’ve taken an interest only in the last few years and I’m no historian by any means. There are definite flaws in the 2 party system. And it will likely never be perfected. Like I said before, I’m not trying to bash anyone, but expressing my honest opinion in what I see between the lines, is what I said, any other vote for anyone other than McCain was an advantage to Obama and just gave him the votes he needed. AND also, all the “conservatives/republicans” that voted Obama or other OR those Didn’t vote at all, out of spite, bitterness, dejection… whatever the reason may be, made it all the easier for Obama to win.

  3. Heidi says:

    I meant “the lesser of two evils” not in the literal sense. I don’t consider either of them evil either, it was merely a figure of speech. I do see your point.

  4. mimi says:

    oh yeah, I know that’s just a figure of speech but it’s implying that they’re both terrible, isn’t it? I just can’t understand how one who is “pro-life” could set aside the utter importance and dynamics of that issue to vote for Obama. As important as the economy is, all that stuff is material compared to life. McCain isn’t perfect either but he’s not the liberal extremist.

Leave a Reply

