Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow already!

Posted: January 22, 2009 by mimi in From the Heart, Hogaboam family, Uncategorized

Ok, so I’m apparently one of the strange few (adults) that actually enjoy snow.  It’s been cold here in Idaho.  I’m freezing here in my office too.  For some reason, the 2 front rooms in the upstairs of the house, doesn’t get well circulated air (not good).  So, in the summer, it’s smoltering.  In the winter?  You guessed it.  It’s cold.  My feet are freezing (and I have socks on).  My fingers get numb from being so cold (and I have 2 long sleeve shirts on).

So, anyway, I say, if it’s gonna be cold, it might as well snow so we have something to do with this coldness.  Me and the kids enjoy it.  Rick, not so much.  He tries.  (not very hard though)

As Christmas was approaching last month, I asked a friend about snow and whether he thought we’d have a white Christmas.  I was told that statistically, Nampa gets a white Christmas about 1 in 7 yrs.  So I then asked, “did you have a white Christmas last year?”  His response, “yeah”.  So, then I said, “so…I gotta wait another 7 yrs!”  Well, our first Christmas here, it turns out, I got my white Christmas after all!   I wouldn’t say I was “dreaming of a white Christmas”, but I was excited at the beautiful site!  Thank you Lord!

Apparently I heard we had record early snowfall for this area.  kira-playing-by-herself-in-snow-2No problem for me.   (so sorry for those who dread it.)  After the 1st snowfall, Kira begged me to build her a snowman but I didn’t get to it until after Christmas when it was starting to melt.  So,  Me and Kira had fun making “our snow family” (minus the details- eyes, buttons, nose, etc), that is, one to represent each member of our family, b/c Kira wouldn’t have it any other way.  snow-family-3Well, of course I did most of the work! … while she joyfully ran back and forth in the snow and slush.  happy day!  snow-family-5

But now it’s been cold for weeks and no snow.  Argg!

Hope you all had the merriest of Christmases!

Leave a Reply

