Hippocratic Oath is Pro-Life

Posted: January 23, 2009 by Rick Hogaboam in Abortion, Ethics, Social Issues

I made mention of this oath in a previous post, but failed to cite where this 4th Century B.C. oath made explicit mention of abortion. Here it is:

“I will not give a lethal drug to anyone if I am asked, nor will I advise such a plan; and similarly I will not give a woman a pessary (instrument) to cause an abortion.”

Again, if President Obama pursues the “Freedom of Choice Act”, he will be spitting in the face of medical oaths that have bound care-givers for centuries. He will also force thousands of doctors to perform abortions against their conscious. He will also be battling 1/3 of the hospitals in America which refuse to kill innocent life in the womb.

I wonder if our forefathers would ever imagine the day when we would mandate that care-givers be obligated to kill innocent human life if requested from a patient, or risk legal action, or be terminated from such a vocation. I pray that the Hippocratic Oath will not be replaced by the “Obama Oath”, which would also overrule such legislation as parental notification laws. I still don’t get the logic of a kid who can’t take asprin to school, but will be given a medical procedure without parental consent. I’m not a “doom and gloom” guy, but I fear that we are increasingly calling that which is good, evil; and calling that which is evil, good.

Comments
  1. goldmanmark says:

    the oath does restrict doctors from giving a pessary to a patient, but does not restrict them from giving a wire coat hanger or a vacuum cleaner. it just restricts doing that specific kind of abortion.

  2. Richard Mupingo says:

    The right to life belongs only to the giver of life, and that’s the Almighty God. Much as we might want to ignore him and think that it is up to us to have or not have life, we are on the wrong path. I have always posed this simple question, ‘If my mother had exercised her ‘right’ to abort me, where would I be to talk about my right to abort? Abortion is murder, period. No human being has the power or ability to create life in the way that God did it. We are only instruments of such a process and when life begins, we should not stop it which ever way we intend to rationalise it. Life belongs to God. When He wants to end it, we have no power to stop Him. The whole world needs to pray for your President who himself is of mixed race. If his mother had lived in South Africa at the time of his birth, she would have been either ostracised or worse still forced to abort the pregnancy that was bringing out the abominable ‘chocolate’ colour. Now tell me who would we have celebrated as the historic first ‘black’ president. Put simply no one has the right to terminate the process that God has put in place as part of pro creation. Ignore this at your own peril. Where would we all be if Sarah had aborted Isaac, saying ‘I’m too old. I cant be buying dipers at my age’.

    • Thanks for your comments…I do pray that we would experience a cultural revolution on this issue of life. It seems that people care more about human rights now than ever before and I believe it is only inevitable before people take a long hard second look at the abortion issue in relation to human rights.

Leave a Reply

