My Letter to President Obama

Posted: January 23, 2009 by Rick Hogaboam in Abortion, Ethics, Politics, Social Issues

The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20500

President Obama, I read your comments on the anniversary of Roe v. Wade, where you wished my son and daughter well in their pursuit of a “world class education”. Thanks for your concern for my childrens’ pursuit of happiness, but I care, and I pray that my very children would care, more about the denial of the fundamental right to life for others. Answer me one question: What makes my children intrinsically valuable in your sight, worthy of a college education, etc? Is it only because I “wanted” them? You are a “smart” man and I want to believe you know the answer. If so, please stop suppressing the truth on this fundamental issue and defend the right to life for the preborn, because their value is assigned them from God, not you, not mom, not anyone else. The baby in the womb that is a piece of trash to one, was a source of joy to me when I realized I was to have my first daughter, Kira. Can we both be right? That she is both a piece of trash and a precious life? Not for one minute did I think that Kira was precious because I said so….rather I simply affirmed that she was precious. Mr. Obama…Is my daughter Kira, when in the womb, precious or not? Is it really left up to me to decide as a “choice”? Are your daughters precious to you and Michelle only because you “wanted” them? Were they not created equal and endowed with rights from their Creator? I’m not trying to impose my Christian faith in your public policy, I speak to you as a fellow citizen, quoting not from Scripture, but rather from our very Declaration of Independence. It isn’t even the Government which assigns value to human life, but rather it is the Government’s duty to affirm human life and bind itself in the protection of such “self-evident” truths. We owe our existence not to parents, nor to the Government, but to what our founder’s called a “Creator”.

Mr. Obama, I do pray that you would walk in the tradition of former president Lincoln, and stand tall for human rights. Please heed the words of our country’s very declaration: “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights“. I pray that such truths will be “self-evident” as they were to Abraham Lincoln, who said: “Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent, a new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.”

Mr. Obama, in the spirit of our Declaration of Independence, in the spirit of our founders, in the spirit of patriots’ blood,  in the spirit of Lincoln, please dedicate yourself to that proposition “that all men are created equal”. The many babies who are dying today were created just as equal and just as valuable as yourself. May the “brotherhood” that Martin Luther King  Jr. sought extend to the youngest and most vulnerable among us…the baby in the womb.

I know you are busy and likely didn’t read this letter, but if so, I thank you. I happen to be a pastor and am committed to praying for you and your family. May the God of all strength bless you through His Son Jesus Christ and guide you in all your counsels and deliberations for the good of these United States of America. 

Kindest Regards,

Richard T. Hogaboam

Comments
  1. Scott Kistler says:

    This is well-put, Rick. I like how you went right at the weak point in his logic that values choice and freedom from government intervention more than life, but then talks about the value of women after they are born.

    Obama’s logic on abortion reflects the radical individualism of “choice,” most heartbreakingly conveyed in the “punished with a mistake” comment about a hypothetical abortion for his daughter. And I say this as someone who voted for him (very much despite his views on abortion).

    I was talking about this with my mom and realized how interesting it is that we seem to want the government to do so many things, but that the majority view is that abortion is wrong but the government can’t regulate this “choice.”

    • Scott,
      Radical Individualism is definitely what it is. Thanks for your feedback and thanks also for the feedback that you passed on to ONE to pass on to Obama regarding the issue of life.

  2. Bruce says:

    Wow! There are still pastors out there who will take a stand for life!

    Thanks Pastor Rick. Ephesians 5:11

Leave a Reply

