“To End All Wars” Movie Review

Posted: April 14, 2009 by Rick Hogaboam in Movie Reviews

I won’t go into all of the details regaridng the plot, etc. You can get that on Wikipedia. I just want to say that I enjoyed this film and the raw humanity it was able to portray. 

I liked the evolution of Jim Reardon’s character, played by Kiefer Sutherland, as he learns how to deal with suffering and becomes a better person because of it.

This story is also a testimony of how one can glorify God no matter what  the circumstances. These POW’s were able to let their light shine even while facing imminent death. My sufferings pale in comparison to those of these POW’s and this film helped give me some perspective on what it means to endure hardship.

I give the film an A+

Comments
  1. I haven’t seen this, but I’d like to. Would it be suitable to watch with kids? Thanks.

    • I think it is a bit graphic for kids to process in a healthy way. Perhaps you should watch it first and then decide. There’s some profanity, but it isn’t gratuitous…it represents the ethos of the characters in the movie.

  2. Thanks, Rick. I’ll try to watch it with my wife this weekend.

  3. It has been some time since we watched this movie, so I have forgot the names of the characters, but I think one of the most powerful parts in the movie was the segment you included here, and the contrast in how the two men respond to their enemies- one in a very Christ-like manner, and the other the polar opposite. A great movie!

  4. I saw this movie for the first time last year and it is definitely one of my favorite movies of all time. Themes that touched me were redemption, suffering for Christ, they talk some about the idea of “justice” and how Christ, the only true just man, would have to endure the unjust sentence of being persecuted, tortured, and eventually left to hang on the tree. It’s powerful how these ideas give the POWs hope to endure despite the pain they experience every day. They go on to demonstrate true love and justice even for their Japanese captors and demonstrate first hand the changing power of the cross.

Leave a Reply

