The Suburban Megachurch Youth Pastor…Gagggg

Posted: May 4, 2009 by Rick Hogaboam in Discipleship/Sanctification, Missional Thought, The Mysterious World of American Evangelicalism, Youth Ministry

All I got to say is that I strived to be genuine and authentic in my time of youth ministry. The youth needed to hear about Jesus more than what movies I watched, what games I play, what sort of clothes I am wearing, etc.  The youth pastors that made the greatest difference in my own life were those who loved Jesus, taught His Word, and prayed for me. They weren’t “cool”…they just loved their wives and kids. They didn’t have the latest tech gadget in hand…they carried the Bible. They didn’t search for profound wisdom in some song or movie…they just quoted Scripture. They didn’t just tell funny jokes…they weeped for the lost.

I realize a need to “contextualize” Scripture to the youth culture, but a ministry that simply loves in the name of Christ is what will endure. We have prostituted and trivialized the Gospel in the name of “contextualization”.

I am sick and tired of overhyped attractional ministry paradigms that sell Jesus like He is a ShamWow. God Help Me…God Help His Church!!!

Comments
  1. This is great! Whoever made this must be a fan of “The Office.” I wish I had seen this about three weeks ago when we were reading through “Gulliver’s Travels”, learning about what the genre of satire is-because this is good satire! Perhaps when people view this clip, they’ll realize just how ridiculous some of these youth pastors are-not to mention how pathetic the paradigms are that so many youth groups are built upon.

Leave a Reply

