“Slumdog Millionaire” Greatly Impresses

Posted: May 12, 2009 by Rick Hogaboam in Movie Reviews

I watched this movie last night and am grateful that my wife picked this movie. For those who know me, I hate most movies I watch and rarely like a film. This movie was suprisingly good. I have long been dissapointed by “highly acclaimed” films. Even my wife has teased me about my past excitement to see a film because it won awards, only to fall asleep half way through.

Anyhow, I just want to say that I really liked this film. There is an underlying theme of destiny which makes the ending climatically glorious. This story reminds me in some ways of the life of Joseph. God was with Joseph every step of the way, even when things looked very gloomy. 

SPOILER ALERT: While this movie doesn’t really attribute God’s providence as the cause of such events, there is an ironic mentioning of God being great by the dying brother Salim at the end. It may be a normal thing to say when dying as a Muslim, however I found it owing to Salim’s recognition that someone greater is orchestrating events in his, his brother’s, and Lakita’s life. Letting Lakita go free, to the cost of his own life, was his surrender to Divine agency…thus the “God is great”!!! or so I would like to read it.

Fellow Blogger Chad Bishop suggested that Slumdog Millionare was Calvinistic and that the Wrestler was Arminnian. I have yet to see the Wrestler, but I agree with Chad that if Calvin were to so grace us with a screenplay, it would be similar in strain to Slumdog. Jamal undergoes much suffering in his life, but he lays out hope that it can all turn for good. He seeks that good, but is only a recipient of great blessing because of a most generous “fate”. Jamal hoped against hope, believed in the face of adversity and suffering. His brother scolded him for such high-headed hope and Lakita was eventually won over by it. His faith, though not in God, is similar in expression to that of the Patriarchs of Holy Scripture. We, however, have a more sure hope in Christ, and it is only by His loving providence that we are assured that He will work ALL THINGS for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose. Slumdog Millionaire was a beautiful movie of all things turning for good…those who enjoyed this movie do so because of how Jamal’s life shaped him and lead him, even if played out in a “Who Wants to be a Millionaire?” backdrop. 

This film doesn’t leave one thinking, “I want to be like Jamal,” as much as it leaves one wishing that all things in our lives would turn out for ultimate good and triumph. We can’t script such a story for our own lives. Our lives reflect a greater screenplay, progressing towards an even greater climax, under the greatest Author, God. This Author promises to do us good if we would love His Son, who was given for us. In the end, we will get a greater prize than a childhood sweetheart, but Christ Himself, whose love for us is greater than death, famine, sword, nakedness, hunger and the like. Just as Jamal sought his love, so also Jesus seeks His bride…and nothing, absolutely nothing will stop Him from accomplishing His purposes. He will gather all His lost sheep and all will be well. 

P.S. The soundtrack was pretty cool…here is a video of a song from the movie. Oh yeah, I also give this film a 9 out of 10. 

Comments
  1. Scott Kistler says:

    Rick, I’m glad you liked it. I watched it back in January and loved it too. I bought the soundtrack about a week later. How did you like the Bollywood dance scene?

Leave a Reply

