Review of Beat Rabbi’s “Deep Space 5oul” & The Scribbling Idiots’ “Have Nots”

Posted: May 13, 2009 by Rick Hogaboam in Music Reviews

Beat Rabbi & Deepspace 5 - Deepspace5oulI had a chance to hang with Jae Choi for a couple days while in Spokane. He is an awesome cat, who helps with ministry at Christ The Redeemer Church in Spokane, AND is an owner of Illect Records, which is a hip-hop label. For those who don’t know, I am a big hip-hop fan. We hit it off right away reminiscing about the evolution of hip-hop culture, the dark years of Gansta Rap, and the reimmergence of Hip-Hop today. He gave me a few albums to listen to and I promised that I would blog a review on each of them.

The first review is for the artist Beat Rabbi and his album “DeepSpace5oul”. I really liked this album. His lyrics are tight and his assortment of beats don’t fail to impress. His creativity shines through teh entire album. I would give this album an 8.5/10. 

The second review is that of the crew “The Scribbling Idiots”.  Their album “Have Nots” employ a relentless array of thoughtful lyrics matched by great beats. I love the use of piano samples in hip hop and was pleased by the soothing piano in the background of many of the tracks in this album. This is true hip-hop from a crew that cares more about their message than their image. I know this isn’t much of a review, but I listened to the album twice and would give it a 6.5/10. Hey, I gotta be honset.

http://www.scribblingidiots.com

http://www.illect.com/site

http://www.myspace.com/scribblingidiots

Comments
  1. Jae says:

    rick, you’re not just saying i’m awesome so that i’ll say that you’re awesome too, right? heh – well, you ARE pretty awesome, and it was great to meet and chill during wbe. hope we can do so again in the not-too-distant future. also appreciate the honest feedback – neither i or the idiots would have it any other way!

    • Hopefully we can meet up again next year. I am listening through the other albums and will review them once done. I did like the “idiots”, but only really liked maybe 3 tracks, whereas with the “rabbi”, I liked maybe 5-6 tracks quite a bit.
      Hope all is well with you and CTR. Stay in touch my brother.

Leave a Reply

