Follow the yellow… patches of grass?

Posted: May 14, 2009 by mimi in Children

Ok, so aside from my mistakenly bad judgement of spraying our yards with weed killer at night when I couldn’t see well, other parts of our backyard is looking a bit like we’ve been warped into Oz where we would NOT be frollicking on the yellow brick road, er… I mean yellow patches of dead grass, from “the dog”.

I’m trying to train our 3 month old pup to ‘eliminate’ in one corner area of the backyard.  We’ve only had him for a month now & I’ve been working hard in housebreaking him, potty training, and obedience training.  I’ve been reading online. I even found a dog-training VHS tape last week at Goodwill, which I haven’t watched yet.  Y’know, I’m tired of training this dog.  We’re tired.  My husby is sick of seeing his grass dug and dirt patches with holes in them.  Poor guy spread weed killers, fertilizer, & grass seeds a couple weeks ago.  He’s been trying hard to get those dead patches to grow only to find the dog is digging the dirt. (Sorry honey!)

The kids love Buster, afore mentioned pup.  Husby & I tease & prod about getting rid of him to see what they do or say.  needless to say, they’d be heartbroken.  Oh, the anguish of decisions!  I have to own up to the fact that I somewhat pressured husby into getting a dog for the kids since they’ve been desperately pleading for 1 for the last 2 years.  For Cody, it’s been longer.  It’s just the constant “where’s the dog? what’s he doing? NO! drop it buster!  Come buster!  go potty buster.  is his butt clean?”  Y’know?  And we’re a bit more picky than the average person about the state of our floors, mainly carpet.  I mean, we don’t allow shoes on the carpet!  C’mon. So you know we be wiping the pup’s paws every time he comes in from outside. EVERY TIME!  And when it rains…ugh, f’get about it!  He’s out for a while. My husby is dreading winter already, and not b/c of the snow either.

I know, some of you out there may be thinking, “why’d you even get a dog?”  I told you- the kids, & me pressuring my husby to get it for the kids.  I thought it’ll be worth the work but only if my husby was going to put forth effort to help me b/c I didn’t want to do it all myself.  no way.  After long begging weeks, he caved.  I feel bad that I might have pressured him too much.  It helped that he’s such a softy to our 4 yr. old who had begged & inquired insistently.

Seriously.  So, what to do, what to do??

Leave a Reply

