Remembering Micah Gifford

Posted: May 18, 2009 by Rick Hogaboam in Uncategorized

http://iraq.pigstye.net/article.php/GiffordMicah

I just found out that my old classmate was killed in Iraq. His older brother, Ben, is running for US Senate in California and it was in reading Ben’s bio that I saw mention of his departed brother.

Micah was a center on the Calle Mayor Junior High football team while I was quarterback. Centers and QB’s develop an obvious relationship as they must work together. Dale, his dad, was our offensive coordinator and I have fond memories of playing that season. There is a team picture from that season that I would post, but I fear that it is lost. One is of a dogpile with Micah on the bottom with his huge grin as usual.

I hope he is with our Lord and Savior and hope to meet him again in glory. I am grateful for his voluntary sacrifice on behalf of this country.

Leave a Reply

