Rising numbers of ProLifers

Posted: May 21, 2009 by mimi in Abortion, Politics, Social Issues

Newest gallup poll in May 2009 shows an increase of pro-lifers in America @ 51% of Americans calling themselves “pro-life” on the issue of abortion and 42% “pro-choice. I just wonder if these same people who consider themselves pro-life also deem it so important that they vote accordingly?  Or is it one of those, “well, “I” personally believe it’s wrong but who am I to say it’s wrong for someone else” type thing, which I think is utterly cowardly.  In this case of life, it’s either wrong or it isn’t.  Which is it?  Why can this be wrong for one and not another?

It’s such a sad day when a people or country will say that it is more important to save a species of plants (trees, flowers, etc), animals, insects even, but not a human life.  It was troubling humorous when I was searching about some insect I sometimes found crawling in our bathroom when we lived in upstate NY.  I searched the internet to find out what it was & if it was harmful in anyway.  There were people who were pleading for others not to kill the million-legged creepy crawler!  I mean, c’mon!  I smashed that thing everytime I found one & the thing’s legs would still wiggle for a while after being chopped & smashed.  I bet some, if not all those people were also pro-choice.

I also find it ironic that many who are involved in helping the poor of third world countries value those struggling lives of the people over there, including children & babies, when those are the very babies that democratic leaders & those of the left mindset find abortion worthy or necessary to curb this dilemma.  While I don’t condone the sexual ignorance, irresponsible  practices of those who abuse sexual pleasures that in turn can create hardships for themselves & others, life is life once conceived, & therefore inherently valuable.  right?

Comments
    • mimi says:

      yeah, actually, me writing this post isn’t suggesting that the people who consider themselves prolife are necessarily hardcore. i think it’s inconsistent to say yeah, i’m prolife but someone else is entitled to their own opinion whether it’s ok to kill human life before it’s born.
      i’m always skeptical of stats. i think they’re misleading & don’t tell the whole truth, unless there are many detailed & extremely specified questions as it relates to given topics. many of these stats are ambiguous.
      thanks for the links.

  1. Scott Kistler says:

    Mimi, I thought that Albert Mohler had the best reaction that I’ve seen to the poll. It doesn’t seem that a majority of Americans translate their distaste with abortion into a desire to see it become illegal. To be clear, I wish that they would. But I think that we have a lot of persuading to do.

    http://www.albertmohler.com/blog_read.php?id=3831

    • mimi says:

      I also find Obama’s rhetoric of how “women make these choices with great care” quite irritating. Reality is many many women DO NOT make this choice with great care. Many of them make this choice quite casually as they have described this atrocity as “just another medical procedure” b/c “it’s just a blob of cells”. I’ve read these kinds of comments on the net & it’s appalling, to say the least. Many do not consult their family or their pastors. It’s horrid to even think a christian or christian-thinking person would even ask if abortion is okay. Since it’s “a woman’s choice and her right”, why would she feel the need or compelled to talk to anyone unless she knew it was wrong, but for selfish reasons, would resort to such a crime? Some may think my comments are harsh, but this is the day for truth. Tomorrow is not guaranteed to anyone.

      • Scott Kistler says:

        I agree. It doesn’t make sense to me either. In thinking about persuasion, we have to look at the reasons that people choose to have abortions. Thanks for the start on this. It’s disheartening to think that those reasons could be out there.

Leave a Reply

