for it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am Holy, says the LORD. (1peter 1:16)

Posted: July 6, 2009 by mimi in Uncategorized

1Pe 1:15-16  “but as he who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct, since it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”

What a sobering and wondrous command.  Oh the challenge & complexity of understanding it all!   How many of us struggle with this?  I would dare say ALL!  It gives me shivers just to read these words & how I know the utter need I have of His power to work in me, even working through me.  I struggle to leave the cares of this world at His feet, that I may not have to carry the burdens in life, of knowing lost souls, the physical sufferings of family & friends, the sadness of broken people, the hurts & on it goes…

We are  called to carry one another’s burdens. Gal 6:2  Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ. There is this saying out there in Christianity that I so loathe… “holier than thou”, used in a negative way to describe someone of faith who is seeking to be “wholesome” and/or modest or reserved in their expressions or ways they are involved in ‘worldly’ things or limiting their exposure to non-believers.  Some think and say these people are “legalistic”.  Now, I understand that some may have the wrong motives or immature thinking and ways in which they relay their own piety, and then others (naturally all) will feel insecure and offended that another should “judge” the way they live, especially in living out their “freedoms in Christ”.  But I say, if a Christian should revel in living in holiness and righteousness, shouldn’t we encourage them on?  If they should be misguided or misunderstanding something in their piety, then do lovingly guide them.  Pray for wisdom & then pray for them.  Encourage and talk to them.  Understand them & help them understand where they may be lacking.

There are Christians who don’t watch tv or certain movies or listen to certain music or dress a certain way.  Many categorize them as extreme.  I think it great that there is such a zeal to live in such a way as to distinguish themselves from “the world”.  I know, I know.  You may be thinking, “but it’s ignorant zeal”.   Are you saying ALL of those kinds of Christians are ignorant zealots who don’t really understand their pietous freedoms?   Have we spoken and surveyed all of them?  I think not.  I know I’m not as brilliant as many but in my childlike mind, I survey that the sometimes the less “worldliness” we have to influence the rotting of our minds & hearts, the better.

I wish I could have the strong will and convictional strength to live such simplistic a lifestyle & forsake so many of the worldly things I do live with.  My flesh is weak.  Many things in which I really consider luxuries, which in themselves are not sinful, but that I feel sometimes attributes to the rotting my time, spirit, mind, heart & soul.  Distractions, basically.  The desire for more, better things.  “NO!  Away from me you selfish desires!”  I want to just be able to bask in the WOrd all day, everyday.  but the reality of life’s responsibilities demands much of my time.  Don’t get me wrong, I very much enjoy the things I am able to do, like being at home with my children & all that entails, taking care of my family, time to serve in ministry in & out of church … oh the many blessings that life does offer.  But oh! … the richness of knowing God, prayer time, reading, learning more and more about Him!

Eph 4:17  Now this I say and testify in the Lord, that you must no longer walk as the Gentiles do, in the futility of their minds.
Eph 4:18  They are darkened in their understanding, alienated from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them, due to their hardness of heart.
Eph 4:19  They have become callous and have given themselves up to sensuality, greedy to practice every kind of impurity.
Eph 4:20  But that is not the way you learned Christ!–
Eph 4:21  assuming that you have heard about him and were taught in him, as the truth is in Jesus,
Eph 4:22  to put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires,
Eph 4:23  and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds,
Eph 4:24  and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.

How beautiful and sacred is the holiness of Christ, in which we are to emulate!  How awesome is His Majesty!

So I ask, is it self righteous for a Christian to live in extreme modesty & promote it?   Why or why not?   I know there are a million ways one may think a Christian should live.  Why is there such a broad gamut of Christian piety and what are other examples of these differences?   What are the struggles?

My thoughts are not completely gathered here in this blog but I wanted to get a start and put this out anyways.

Leave a Reply

