Pro-Life, Anti-abortion activist, murdered. WHERE IS THE OUTRAGE??!!

Posted: September 13, 2009 by mimi in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

James Pouillon, a well-known activist in the town of Owosso, Michigan was killed by some derranged guy with a great chip on his shoulder on a very evil day. Where is the outrage by the country? Why isn’t it on the news? IF not for a few weeks, at least a day or two? Why isn’t this news worthy? But when the abortionist Dr. Tiller was killed, it made all the news and stayed tuned for weeks. The rage from the left was fumed and fanned. Conservatives & religious leaders alike came out and spoke against such acts of violence. This is such garbage!

Comments
    • mimi says:

      but why didn’t the media cover it on tv or radio? or did i blink and miss it?

      • Scott Kistler says:

        I think that you’re right that it’s been under the radar, but I wanted to pass on Obama’s comments. As far as I can tell, it certainly hasn’t been anything like the Tiller shooting.

        One reason, probably, is that Tiller was much more famous and a another is that there have been attacks on abortionists before, so it fit into something of a pattern.

        But other than that, I don’t think that there is any good reason why the coverage is so completely different. Here’s someone else wondering the same thing:
        http://weblogs.baltimoresun.com/news/faith/2009/09/pouillon_tiller_abortion.html

  1. mimi says:

    thanks for the reply scott. i wonder, in your opinion, can one be a christian and as a doctor, perform an abortions and consider it ok? scripture says that “Psa 127:3 Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward.” “Psa 139:13 For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.” “Isa 44:2 Thus says the LORD who made you, who formed you from the womb and will help you: Fear not, O Jacob my servant, Jeshurun whom I have chosen.” i mean, dr. tiller was an usher at his church? it doesn’t make sense to me. how can anyone in Christ practice such a practice? is there “truth” in this matter or is it really matter of opinion?

  2. Scott Kistler says:

    Mimi, I’d say that there is truth. Abortion is murder, and Christians shouldn’t do it.

    As far as whether a Christian can be an abortion doctor, that’s harder for me to answer. If I were a pastor or elder, then I don’t think that I could vote for allowing an unrepentant abortionist to join my congregation. I’m going to guess that Tiller’s church was probably more theologically liberal, but I don’t know.

    In one sense, I don’t feel qualified to answer the question since I am not a pastor or elder with training in how to deal with these questions. That’s my best answer for how I would act, though.

    Finally, I do think it’s possible for someone to have a huge blind spot and to be a Christian who performs abortions. Perhaps the person truly trusts in Christ but doesn’t see the baby as human, or believes that the mother’s rights cancel out the baby’s rights. That person would need the Holy Spirit, his pastor, and his Christian brothers and sisters to help him see the truth.

    The reason that I say this is that it’s impossible to know someone’s heart and that we all have so many areas where we need forgiveness and maturity. I’m very open to correction on this issue, though.

  3. XYZ says:

    Yawn…. Keep repeating ur records, folks… If abortion is murder, what is then war? U are hypocrites in the highest degree and ull never gonna win, no matter what u say or do.

    • Scott Kistler says:

      XYZ, does that mean that you’re OK with both abortion and war?

      I think that unjust wars are murder, although it can be hard to define a just war and people often disagree about the justice of a war. War is a horrible thing, though. Abortion is especially tragic because the unborn child has harmed no one and is a threat to no one.

      As far of the future of abortion rights, here’s an article from New York Magazine that younger people are often more anti-abortion than their elders:
      http://nymag.com/news/features/62379/.

      • Scott,
        It does seem that the multiple polls that I have seen recently do confirm a pro-life trend in public opinion. Though it is nuanced in how such folks feel about public policy, I do rejoice that the general sentiment is moving towards life.

Leave a Reply

