Spurgeon Quote on His Preferred Creed

Posted: January 26, 2010 by Rick Hogaboam in Quotables
Tags:

“I am never ashamed to avow myself a Calvinist,” he once said. “I do not hesitate to take the name of Baptist, but if I am asked what is my creed, I reply, ‘It is Jesus Christ.’ ”

Interestingly, Spurgeon preferred to be considered a “mere Christian”.

I share Spurgeon’s sentiments as I seek to rally around Christ and think my faith “merely Christian” or “Catholic” (Universal) in nature. I am not ashamed to note the distinctives I hold too, but they are merely that, distinctives.

Comments
  1. Bruce says:

    Yes and Amen.

Leave a Reply

