Archive for the ‘Music Reviews’ Category

Around every corner is the lure to consume. A desire to be satisfied. Unfortunately no human being has found anything under the sun that brings satisfaction. So we consume more, and more, and more.  Eventually, we overdose. However, there is hope–if Christianity is our Rehab. In Jesus, satisfaction can be found.
Grace, love, peace and hope can be found…and there is always more. Consume more of Jesus. Overdose. 

Rehab: The Overdose officially hits stores and online outlets 1.11.11.

Check out the promo video below.

Also, place your order today so you can be among the first to get an extra dose! 

To pre-order Rehab: The Overdose album go here.

To pre-order Rehab: The Overdose combo packages go here.

To pre-order the new The Overdose Tshirt go href=”

Get ready for The Overdose on 1.11.11!

Anyone following the work of musician Aaron Strumpel will know that he is increasingly dangerous and defiant of musical convention. And so he wishes to offer you a Christmas gift in the form of a three track EP, at no charge to your good or bad selves.

Yes, it features three well known Christmas tracks, and is available for free from his website ( It will also, most likely, neatly divide people into two camps – those who relish his wild, crazy, bombastic approach to writing, and those who just don’t get it, whatever the heck “it” is anyway.

I’m in camp one. I absolutely love this dude, the music he makes and the beating heart that pours out so much into his songwriting, recording and production. This very statement may cause you to distrust my musical recommendations from this day forward, but so be it – I’m a Strumpel fan, period.

The musical canvas is a fitting blend of modern and traditional, as trumpets, jingling bells, and vocal choruses are filtered through Aaron’s cacophony pedal (at least, that’s what I suspect he uses). It’s a joyful noise and it requires some adjustment to your expectations about music. Think John Coltrane and Miles Davis in some of their more free form moods and you’re on the right track. But rest assured that this “noise” is actually the fruit of much musical study and a profound growth in both knowledge and freedom of expression.

Whilst the rest of the industry tirelessly churns out rehashes of familiar arrangements of traditional tunes, or tries to convince us that more songs about Santa are helpful to our enjoyment of this most festive of seasons, Strumpel’s Christmas EP is going in my playlist next to Sufjan, Bob Dylan, Jars of Clay and some more traditional old favorites.

Thanks for the gift, Aaron – keep being wild and Merry Christmas to you.

Josh White – Achor

Posted: December 8, 2010 by Jonathan in Music Reviews

The Western church has been extremely blessed with a strong contemporary worship community for the last two decades. We have been well provided for with bands in the vein of Delirious, Hillsong, Gateway Worship and writers such as Tim Hughes, Matt Redman and Chris Tomlin. Parallel to this has been modern hymn writing from people such as Stuart Townend, Keith Getty and company. But between those two camps there has been sparser pickings of both creative and corporately suited worship. (I’d say Enter The Worship Circle, Aaron Strumpel, John Mark McMillan, DC*B and Gungor are some of the ones operating in the wide-open creative center/fringe).

Josh White, who has been leading worship for over a decade and recently planted a church in Portland, has just released “Achor” and it sits somewhere between Enter The Worship Circle, Sufjan Stevens and the Lost Dogs – in other words, it reeks of rootsy, bluesy, folksy music that is so rooted in Americana that it is one of the most honest worship records you’ll hear all year. It sounds like this album just grew out of the ground, as acoustic guitars, layered vocals, flutes, double basses, dobros, clarinets, strings and more chorus their way through 12 tracks.

The album title means “trouble” and is a reference from Hosea 2:15 – “the valley of Achor as a Door of Hope.” There is honest reflection that considers the weight and struggle of both existence and the comprehension of God’s grace.

“I can’t seem to calculate/All the patience it must take/To love me./ You perfectly covered me/ With blood that flowed from your hands and feet/ Consume me/ You are my center you’re my song/ You have been there all along/ I’ve been swallowed up by you/ There is nothing I can do/ Yes you amaze me,” sings White on “You Amaze Me”. It is not easy to sing so honestly about our lack of standing or deserving, but it is essential to the testimony of the church.

On the other end of the spectrum is the loose and wild “Holy Ghost Revival” which calls in revival for today or the slow but grand build of “Our God is Present” which envelops the listener in sound and the majesty of God. We need to be singing these songs and receiving such a gift of songwriting for today that really connects at a cultural level with a section of the church that has utilized the contemporary worship scene but has not necessarily considered it to be their own voice in the topography of worship.

There is a lot of material on here to work with for corporate worship settings, and the decade of leading people in worship really shows in White’s songwriting and recording. There’s a space to the sound and a feeling of community worship that pervades the album.

Yes, I’m musical-crushing again – it’s been quite the year for it, and I think you’ll fall in love too.

This review was originally written for Foursquare and the album was provided for reviewing by BEC Recordings at not charge to me, or Foursquare, and no attempt was made to secure a favorable review. All views expressed are my own.

Calvinism. Hip Hop. Moody Bible Institute.

Posted: October 25, 2010 by Scott Kistler in Holy Hip Hop

Even putting two of those terms together might have been difficult in the past.  But it’s the 21st century now.

Reach Records’ Unashamed tour will be making a stop at Moody in a couple of weeks, and I will probably be going with a group from church.  Should be fun!

Lecrae’s New Album “Rehab” is Here!!!

Posted: September 30, 2010 by Rick Hogaboam in Holy Hip Hop, Music Reviews
Tags: ,

Lecrae’s long-awaited fourth album, REHAB, is now in stores!

The album features Tedashii, Trip Lee, Sho Baraka, Sonny Sandoval, Anthony Evans and many more.  You can check in by picking up a copy of Rehab now on iTunes or at Walmart, Target, Best Buy, Mardels, LifeWay, Berean and Family Christian.  For more information on where to find Rehab in-store click here.

You can also purchase the deluxe and/or vinyl version of Rehab as well as album merchandise at the

For more information about the album and to listen to the three singles click

Track Listing 

1. Check In

2. Killa

3. Divine Intervention ft. J.R.

4. Just Like You ft. J. Paul

5. Gotta Know ft. Benjah

6. Used To Do It Too ft. KB

7. Children of the Light ft. Sonny Sandoval & Dillavou

8. High ft. Sho Baraka & Suzy Rock

9. New Shalom ft. PRo

10. 40 Deep ft. Tedashii & Trip Lee

11. Walking On Water

12. God Is Enough ft. Flame & Jai

13. Boasting ft. Anthony Evans

14. Background ft. C-Lite

15. New Reality ft. Chinua Hawk

16. Release Date ft. Chris Lee

17. Bonus Track I Love You ft. Chris Lee

 Check into REHAB today!